Member Congregations

Community Renewal Society's work is drawn from and led by our Member Congregations. Congregations across the Chicago metropolitan area come together to address the most pressing issues facing their communities. Congregations make an annual donation to CRS. CRS organizers work with the congregations to identify, train and develop congregational leaders. Together, these leaders work to identify the key issues affecting the members of their church and community and activate the church for large scale action.
Congregations meet 2-4 times a year in the Leadership Council to identify issues of concern and launch new campaigns. One of these meetings is the Annual Membership Assembly where member congregations also elect the CRS Board of Directors.
When member congregations choose a new campaign, an Issue Team is formed. This team, made up of 10-15 leaders with special knowledge or passion for the issue, creates the campaign strategy, plans events, and leads public action to win change.
The work of the Organizing program is overseen by the Policy and Organizing Committee (POC). This team of 6-12 advanced leaders, representing the diversity of the membership, sets the broad strategy for the organization, coordinates the work of the different Issue Teams, serves as the public spokespeople for the network, and executes organization-wide actions such as the Martin Luther King Faith in Action Assembly and the Day of Faith at the Capitol.
Contact Delia Ramirez,, if your congregation would like to become a member.


  • Arnett Chapel AME Church
  • Avalon Park Community Church
  • Bethel UCC
  • Beverly Unitarian Church
  • Christ Church UCC
  • Church of the Good Shepherd Congregational UCC
  • Congregational Church of Park Manor
  • Congregational UCC of Arlington Heights
  • First Baptist Congregational Church
  • First Church of Lombard UCC
  • First Congregational Church of Evanston
  • First Congregational Church of La Grange
  • First Congregational Church of Wilmette
  • First Congregational UCC of Naperville
  • First Congregational UCC of Waukegan
  • First UMC, Arlington Heights
  • Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago
  • Glencoe Union Church
  • Glenview Community Church
  • Grace Lutheran Church
  • Kimball Ave Church
  • Liberty Baptist Church
  • Lincoln Memorial Congregational UCC
  • Maple Park UMC
  • Melchizedek Ministries
  • Metropolitan Community Church
  • New Faith Baptist Church
  • New Landmark MBC
  • Ninth Hour Covenant Church
  • Northfield Community Church
  • Old St. Patrick's Church
  • Our Redeemer's UMC
  • Pilgrim Congregational Church
  • Pilgrim Faith UCC
  • Prince of Peace United Methodist Church
  • Pullman Presbyterian Church
  • Ravenswood UCC
  • San Lucas UCC
  • Second Unitarian Church
  • Shekinah Chapel
  • Shiloh Baptist Church of Waukegan
  • Southminster Presbyterian Church
  • St. Agatha Catholic Church
  • St. John UCC
  • St. Luke's Lutheran Church of Logan Square
  • St. Martin de Porres
  • St. Matthew UCC
  • St. Pauls UCC
  • Third Unitarian Church of Chicago
  • Transformation Community UMC
  • Unitarian Church of Evanston
  • Unity Temple UUC
  • University Church of Hyde Park
  • Urban Village Church, Andersonville
  • Urban Village Church, Hyde Park-Woodlawn
  • Urban Village Church, South Loop
  • Urban Village Church, Wicker Park
  • Way of Life Church International
  • Wellington Avenue UCC
Subscribe to CRS Main Feed